Home > people > Meet Charlene, Waffle Whiz at The Gaufre Gourmet

Meet Charlene, Waffle Whiz at The Gaufre Gourmet

January 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments
Charlene Wesler of the Gaufre Gourmet

Charlene Wesler of the Gaufre Gourmet

In 2005, I made a five year plan to own my own catering company.  I graduated from culinary school in 2007.  In 2008 a major incident of domestic violence left me a single mother of three boys.  The struggling economy in 2009 led to the loss of my job as a catering chef.  My five year plan seemed to come to a halt.  I began to look at the food cart movement in Portland as an option to follow my dream in spite of my circumstances.  After a good year of recipe development and market research, The Gaufre Gourmet was born!

Greatest Challenges: My greatest challenge is balancing work, family and school.  Any startup business requires a lot of time, this proves for difficulty in daily scheduling.  It is a great challenge to make sure everyone is in the right place at the right time.

Greatest Reward: My biggest reward is the reaction I get when people try a waffle!  Their eyebrows rise in a surprised excitement after they take a bite and then all I hear is mmmmmm!  It is priceless.

Read More…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

